Academy announces red carpet bleacher lottery

Sep 08, 2010 by Ian Evans

If you’d love to sit in the stands on Oscar night as the stars walk the red carpet, here’s your chance.

Starting Monday, September 13, at noon ET/9 a.m. PT, and continuing for only one week, fans from around world may apply online to take part in a random drawing for seats on the 83rd Academy Awards® red carpet.

700 red carpet seats are available and after the pre-show, these fans will be able to watch the telecast at a nearby location. The application form, and full rules, will be available at The online-only application process will close on Sunday, September 19, at midnight ET/9 p.m. PT.

The 83rd Academy Awards will be presented on Sunday, February 27, 2011.