49th Annual Academy Awards Results and Commentary (1977)

  • Date of Ceremony: Monday, March 28, 1977
  • For films released in: 1976
  • Host(s): Richard Pryor (video), Jane Fonda, Ellen Burstyn and Warren Beatty
Other years:

< 48th

50th >

The 49th Annual Academy Awards were hosted by Richard Pryor, Jane Fonda, Ellen Burstyn and Warren Beatty on Monday, March 28th, 1977.

The wins were centered on three soon-to-be classic films: Network and All the President’s Men with four Oscars and Rocky with three including Best Picture.

Peter Finch’s Best Actor win for Network made him the first performer to win a posthumous Oscar; he had died two months earlier.

Network’s Best Actress winner, Faye Dunaway, said in her acceptance that, “Well, I didn’t expect this to happen quite yet but I do thank you very much and I’m very grateful.”

Beatrice Straight, whose Best Supporting Actress win for Network made it the first film since A Streetcar Named Desire to win three acting awards, figured she was the dark horse and said, “It’s a great, great thrill for me and very unexpected. Though I should have known that when I had someone like Paddy Chayefsky writing and saying things that we all feel but can’t express, and when we have someone like Sidney Lumet who makes one want to act forever, and a producer like Howard Gottfried, then how can I miss?”

A great line came from Paul Williams, who had co-written the Oscar®-winning song “Evergreen” with Barbra Steisand. Williams said, “I was gonna thank all the little people and…then I remembered I am the little people.”


Best Picture

  • Rocky
    Irwin Winkler [Producer] and Robert Chartoff [Producer]

Best Directing

  • Rocky
    John G. Avildsen

Best Actor in a Leading Role

  • Network
    Peter Finch

Best Actress in a Leading Role

  • Network
    Faye Dunaway

Best Actor in a Supporting Role

  • All the President's Men
    Jason Robards

Best Actress in a Supporting Role

  • Network
    Beatrice Straight

Best Foreign Language Film

  • Black and White in Color

Best Art Direction

  • All the President's Men
    George Jenkins [Art Direction] and George Gaines [Set Decoration]

Best Cinematography

  • Bound for Glory
    Haskell Wexler

Best Costume Design

  • Fellini's Casanova
    Danilo Donati

Best Documentary (Feature)

  • Harlan County, U.S.A.
    Barbara Kopple

Best Documentary (Short Subject)

  • Number Our Days
    Lynne Littman

Best Film Editing

  • Rocky
    Richard Halsey and Scott Conrad

Best Music (Original Score)

  • The Omen
    Jerry Goldsmith

Best Music (Original Song Score and Its Adaptation or Adaptation Score)

  • Bound for Glory
    Leonard Rosenman [Adaptation Score by]

Best Music (Original Song)

  • A Star Is Born "Evergreen (Love Theme from A Star Is Born)"
    Barbra Streisand [Music by] and Paul Williams [Lyrics by]

Best Short Film (Animated)

  • Leisure
    Suzanne Baker

Best Short Film (Live Action)

  • In the Region of Ice
    Andre Guttfreund and Peter Werner

Best Sound

  • All the President's Men
    Arthur Piantadosi, Les Fresholtz, Dick Alexander and Jim Webb

Best Writing (Screenplay - based on material from another medium)

  • All the President's Men
    William Goldman

Best Writing (Screenplay Written Directly for the Screen - based on factual material or on story material not previously published or produced)

  • Network
    Paddy Chayefsky

Special Achievement Award (Visual Effects)

  • King Kong
    Carlo Rambaldi, Glen Robinson and Frank Van Der Veer
  • Logan's Run
    L.B. Abbott, Glen Robinson and Matthew Yuricich

Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award

  • Pandro S. Berman

Scientific or Technical Award (Class II)

  • Consolidated Film Industries and Barnebey-Cheney Company
    Note: …for the development of a system for the recovery of film-cleaning solvent vapors in a motion picture laboratory.
  • William L. Graham [of Technicolor], Manfred Michelson [of Technicolor], Geoffrey F. Norman [of Technicolor] and Siegfried Seibert [of Technicolor]
    Note: …for the development and engineering of a Continuous, High-Speed, Color Motion Picture Printing System.

Scientific or Technical Award (Class III)

  • Fred Bartscher [of Kollmorgen Corporation] and G.M. Berggren [of Schneider Corporation]
    Note: …for the design and development of a single-lens magnifier for motion picture projection lenses.
  • Panavision Inc.
    Note: …for the design and development of super-speed lenses for motion picture photography.
  • Hiroshi Suzukawa [of Canon] and Wilton R. Holm [of the AMPTP Motion Picture and Television Research Center]
    Note: …for the design and development of super-speed lenses for motion picture photography.
  • Carl Zeiss Company
    Note: …for the design and development of super-speed lenses for motion picture photography.
  • Photo Research Division of Kollmorgen Corporation
    Note: …for the engineering and manufacture of the Spectra TriColor Meter.
ACADEMY AWARDS®, OSCAR(S)®, OSCAR NIGHT™ and OSCAR® design mark are the trademarks and service marks, and the OSCAR© statuette the copyrighted property, of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
This site is neither endorsed by nor affiliated with the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. Academy Awards Nominations List Courtesy of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.