De Laurentiis to Receive Academy’s Thalberg Award

Jan 24, 2001 by Ian Evans

Producer Dino De Laurentiis will be given the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award at 73rd Annual Academy Awards® on Sunday, March 25.

“De Laurentiis’ body of work speaks for itself,” said Academy President Robert Rehme. “His love of, passion for and dedication to making motion pictures has suffused through his career. He has always had the courage to make the films that he believes in.”

De Laurentiis received his only Oscar® in 1956 when La Strada won the Academy Award for Best Foreign Language Film. Aside from that film, he has never received an Academy Award nomination.

His most recent productions include the upcoming Hannibal and U-571. Other credits include Breakdown, Serpico, Three Days of the Condor, Death Wish, Year of the Dragon, Conan the Barbarian, Dune, Blue Velvet, Barbarella and Manhunter. His remake of King Kong received a Special Achievement Award from the Academy for visual effects.

Stay with Digital Hit for all your Academy Awards® coverage.