Nine films eligible for animated Oscar®

Dec 12, 2001 by Ian Evans

The 74th Annual Awards® will witness the first Oscar® for Best Animated Feature.

Nine films were deemed to be eligible for the award. They are:

  • Final Fantasy: The Spirits Within
  • Jimmy Neutron: Boy Genius
  • Marco Polo: Return to Xanadu
  • Monsters, Inc.
  • Osmosis Jones
  • The Prince of Light
  • Shrek
  • The Trumpet of the Swan
  • Waking Life
The nominating process for this award will begin with a 100-member screening committee chaired by Academy Governor Tom Hanks and comprised half of animators and half of members of the Academy’s other 13 branches. That group will view the nine films and will determine the three nominees. The nominees will be announced on February 12. All voting Academy members worldwide are eligible to vote to select the film that will receive the Oscar®.

The last time a new Academy Award category was established was in 1981, when the Makeup award was created.