49 countries vie for Foreign Language Film

Oct 22, 2004 by Ian Evans

Forty-nine countries have submitted films to the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences for Academy Award® consideration in the Foreign Language Film Award category, Academy President Frank Pierson announced today.

The submissions for 2004 are:

  • Afghanistan, Earth and Ashes, Atiq Rahimi, director
  • Argentina, A Lost Embrace, Daniel Burman, director
  • Austria, Antares, Gotz Spielmann, director
  • Belgium, The Alzheimer Case, Erik Van Looy, director
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina, Days and Hours, Pjer }alica, director
  • Brazil, Olga, Jayme Monjardim, director
  • Bulgaria, Mila from Mars, Zornitsa Sophia, director
  • Canada, Far Side of the Moon, Robert Lapage, director
  • Chile, Machuca, Andrés Wood, director
  • China, House of Flying Daggers, Zhang Yimou, director
  • Croatia, Long Dark Night, Antun Vrdoljak, director
  • Czech Republic, Up and Down, Jan Hrebejk, director
  • Denmark, The Five Obstructions, Jørgen Leth & Lars von Trier, directors
  • Ecuador, Chronicles, Sebastián Cordero, director
  • Egypt, I Love Cinema, Osama Fawzy, director
  • Estonia, Revolution of Pigs, Jaak Kilmi, René Reinumägi, directors
  • Finland, Producing Adults, Aleksi Salmenperä, director
  • France, The Chorus, Christophe Barratier, director
  • Germany, Downfall, Oliver Hirschbiegel, director
  • Greece, A Touch of Spice, Tassos Boulmetis, director
  • Hungary, Kontroll, Nimród Antal, director
  • Iceland, Cold Light, Hilmar Oddsson, director
  • India, Shwaas, Sandeep Sawant, director
  • Iran, Turtles Can Fly, Bahman Ghobadi, director
  • Israel, Campfire, Joseph Cedar, director
  • Italy, The Keys to the House, Gianni Amelio, director
  • Japan, Nobody Knows, Hirokazu Kore-eda, director
  • Korea, Tae Guk Gi, Kang Je-gyu, director
  • Macedonia, The Great Water, Ivo Trajikov, director
  • Malaysia, A Legendary Love, Saw Teong Hin, director
  • Mexico, Innocent Voices, Luis Mandoki, director
  • The Netherlands, Simon, Eddy Terstall, director
  • Norway, Hawaii, Oslo, Erik Poppe, director
  • Palestine, The Olive Harvest, Hanna Elias, director
  • Philippines, Crying Ladies, Mark Meily, director
  • Poland, The Welts, Magdalena Piekorz, director
  • Portugal, The Miracle According to Salomé, Mário Barroso, director
  • Romania, Orient-Express, Sergiu Nicolaescu, director
  • Russia, Night Watch, Timolir Bekmambetov, director
  • Serbia and Montenegro, Goose Feather, Ljubiaa Samard~ic, director
  • Slovenia, Beneath Her Window, Metod Pevec, director
  • South Africa, Yesterday, Darrell Roodt, director
  • Spain, The Sea Inside, Alejandro Amenabar, director
  • Sweden, As in Heaven, Kay Pollak, director
  • Switzerland, Mein Name Ist Bach, Dominique de Rivaz, director
  • Taiwan, 20 : 30 : 40, Sylvia Chang, director
  • Thailand, The Overture, Itthisoontorn Vichailak, director
  • Uruguay, Whisky, Juan Pablo Rebella, Pablo Stoll, directors
  • Venezuela, Punto y Raya, Elia Schneider, director
The 77th Academy Award nominations will be announced at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater on Tuesday, January 25, 2005.

Academy Awards for outstanding film achievements of 2004 will be presented on Sunday, February 27, at the Kodak Theatre at Hollywood & Highland® and televised live by the ABC Television Network at 5 p.m. PST, beginning with a half-hour arrival segment. Stick with DigitalHit.com for all your Academy Awards coverage.