Academy announces 2005 Nicholl Fellowship winners

Nov 03, 2005 by Ian Evans

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has awarded six new screenwriters, two who wrote collaboratively, the Don and Gee Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting. The winners of the 20th edition of this prestigous writing award will receive $30,000 in prize money.

This year’s winners are (listed alphabetically by script title):

  • The Days Between, Morgan Read-Davidson, Downey, California
  • Fire in a Coal Mine, Seth Resnik, West Hollywood, and Ron Moskovitz, Los Angeles
  • No Country, Michael D. Zungolo, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
  • Pirates of Lesser Providence, Colleen Cooper De Maio, Los Angeles
  • Ring of Fire, Gian Marco Masoni, Santa Monica, California

This is the third consecutive year that a script written by a team earned its writers a fellowship; collaborative efforts were first allowed into the competition in 2001. The winners were selected from nearly 6,000 scripts submitted for this year’s competition, which is open to any individual who has not sold or optioned a screenplay or teleplay for more than $5,000 or received a fellowship or prize that includes a “first look” clause, an option, or any other quid pro quo involving the writer’s work.