Five new governors elected to Academy

Jul 15, 2005 by Ian Evans

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has elected five new governors to their Board of Governors. Three of the five will be serving for the first time.

The newcomers are Alexander Payne, directors branch; John Lasseter, short films and feature animation; and Craig Barron, visual effects. Returning to the board are Albert Wolsky, art directors, after an absence of three years, and past Academy president Robert Rehme, from the executives branch, who was off the board for one year. Both had left the board after serving the maximum of three consecutive three-year terms.

Incumbent governors re-elected to another term on the board are Tom Hanks, actors branch; Owen Roizman, cinematographers; Michael Apted, documentary; Donn Cambern, film editors; Charles Bernstein, music; Kathleen Kennedy, producers; Sid Ganis, public relations; J. Paul Huntsman, sound; and Fay Kanin, writers.

Three governors represent each of the Academy’s branches and are elected for staggered terms, so that each branch elects or re-elects one governor each year.