59 Songs advance in Academy race

Dec 12, 2007 by Ian Evans

Fifty-nine songs from eligible feature-length motion pictures will be considered in the Original Song category for the 80th Academy Awards®, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced today.

The original songs, along with the motion picture in which each song is featured, are listed below in alphabetical order by film title:

  • “Do You Feel Me” from American Gangster
  • “At the Edge of the World” from Arctic Tale
  • “Someday” from August Rush
  • “This Time” from August Rush
  • “Raise It Up” from August Rush
  • “Break” from August Rush
  • “Nothing’s There” from Badland
  • “The Devil’s Lonely Fire” from Badland
  • “A Hero Comes Home” from Beowulf
  • “The Stars of Orion” from Berkeley
  • “Say” from The Bucket List
  • “To Be Surprised” from Dan in Real Life
  • “My Hands Are Shaking” from Dan in Real Life
  • “I’ll Be OK” from Dan in Real Life
  • “December Boys” from December Boys
  • “So Close” from Enchanted
  • “That’s How You Know” from Enchanted
  • “Happy Working Song” from Enchanted
  • “Atkozott Egy Elet” from 56 Drops of Blood
  • “O, Atyam!” from 56 Drops of Blood
  • “Eleg!” from 56 Drops of Blood
  • “A Dream” from Freedom Writers
  • “Lyra” from The Golden Compass
  • “Good Luck Chuck” from Good Luck Chuck
  • “Shut Me Out” from Good Luck Chuck
  • “I Was Zapped by the Lucky Super Rainbow” from Good Luck Chuck
  • “Grace Is Gone” from Grace Is Gone
  • “Lullabye for Wyatt” from Grace Is Gone
  • “Come So Far (Got So Far to Go)” from Hairspray
  • “The Tale of the Horny Frog” from The Heartbreak Kid
  • “China Doll” from Honeydripper
  • “It Will Stay With Us” from The Hottest State
  • “Never See You” from The Hottest State
  • “Society” from Into the Wild
  • “Guaranteed” from Into the Wild
  • “Rise” from Into the Wild
  • “First Amendment Blues” from Larry Flynt: The Right To Be Left Alone
  • “Hello (I Love You)” from The Last Mimzy
  • “Despedida” from Love in the Time of Cholera
  • “Huck’s Tune” from Lucky You
  • “Little Wonders” from Meet the Robinsons
  • “Another Believer” from Meet the Robinsons
  • “Way Back into Love” from Music and Lyrics
  • “PoP! Goes My Heart” from Music and Lyrics
  • “Ordinary People” from Music Within
  • “Pretty Much Amazing” from Nancy Drew
  • “Falling Slowly” from Once
  • “If You Want Me” from Once
  • “Le Festin” from Ratatouille
  • “Land of Quiet Poems” from Resurrecting the Champ
  • “Love Will Still Be There” from September Dawn
  • “Royal Pain” from Shrek the Third
  • “Rule the World” from Stardust
  • “Before It’s Too Late (Sam and Mikaela’s Theme)” from Transformers
  • “Baby Don’t You Cry” from Waitress
  • “Beautiful Ride” from Walk Hard: The Dewey Cox Story
  • “Walk Hard” from Walk Hard: The Dewey Cox Story
  • “Let’s Duet” from Walk Hard: The Dewey Cox Story
  • “Back Where You Belong” from The Water Horse

The Academy will screen clips on January 15th to voting members of the Music Branch. Those members will then choose between three to five nominees.

The 80th Academy Awards nominations will be announced on Tuesday, January 22, 2008, at 5:30 a.m. PT in the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater.

Stick with DigitalHit.com for your Academy Awards coverage