Academy elects new governors

Jul 10, 2007 by Ian Evans

Eight new governors, four of them serving for the first time, have been elected to represent their branches on the Board of Governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. Six incumbent governors were reelected.

Newcomers to the board are Henry Winkler, Actors Branch; Vilmos Zsigmond, Cinematographers; Richard Pearce, Documentary; and Charles Fox, Music. Returning to the Board after a hiatus are Dede Allen, Film Editors; Curt Behlmer, Sound; Richard Edlund, Visual Effects; and Frank Pierson, Writers.

Incumbent governors reelected to another term are Rosemary Brandenburg, Art Directors branch; Curtis Hanson, Directors; Jim Gianopulos, Executives; Hawk Koch, Producers; Marvin Levy, Public Relations Branch; and Carl Bell, Short Films and Feature Animation.

Fourteen of the Academy’s 15 branches are each represented by three governors, who may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms. Terms are staggered so that each branch elects or reelects one governor each year. The recently created Makeup Branch is represented by a single governor, Leonard Engelman, whose seat was not part of this election cycle.

Governors who were not up for reelection and who continue on the Board are Ed Begley Jr. and Tom Hanks, Actors Branch; Jeannine Oppewall and Albert Wolsky, Art Directors; Caleb Deschanel and Owen Roizman, Cinematographers; Paul Mazursky and Alexander Payne, Directors; Michael Apted and Rob Epstein, Documentary; Robert Rehme and Tom Sherak, Executives; Donn Cambern and Mark Goldblatt, Film Editors; Charles Bernstein and Bruce Broughton, Music; Mark Johnson and Kathleen Kennedy, Producers; Sid Ganis and Cheryl Boone Isaacs, Public Relations; Jon Bloom and John Lasseter, Short Films and Feature Animation; J. Paul Huntsman and Kevin O’Connell, Sound; Craig Barron and Bill Taylor, Visual Effects; and James L. Brooks and Fay Kanin, Writers.