Sid Ganis re-elected Academy President

Aug 15, 2007 by Ian Evans

Sid Ganis was re-elected president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Tuesday night by the organization’s Board of Governors. This will be his third consecutive term in the office.

In addition, Robert Rehme, an Executives Branch governor and past Academy president, was re-elected first vice president; Actors Branch governor Tom Hanks and Music Branch governor Charles Bernstein were elected to vice president posts; Producers Branch governor Hawk Koch was elected treasurer and Short Films and Feature Animation Branch governor Jon Bloom was elected secretary.

“I’m truly honored to have the opportunity to continue to serve as president of the Academy,” said Ganis. “There are so many interesting projects going on in the organization. I’m excited to have the chance to help steer those along and to bring even more to our wide-reaching agenda.”

These will be the first officer stints for Bernstein, Koch and Bloom. Hanks has previously served one term each as a vice president and as treasurer, while Rehme has served in various officer posts, including president, a total of 16 terms.

Ganis is now in his 21st year as a governor representing the Public Relations Branch. He founded Out of the Blue… Entertainment, which is housed on the Sony lot, in 1996. Prior to founding Out of the Blue, Ganis held various positions at Sony Pictures, including vice chairman of Columbia Pictures and president of worldwide marketing for Columbia/Tri-Star Motion Picture Companies. Before joining Sony, Ganis served for five years at Paramount Pictures as president of the motion picture group and before that was the studio’s president of worldwide marketing. Previously, Ganis was senior vice president of Lucasfilm, Ltd.

Academy board members serve three-year terms, while officers serve one-year terms, with a maximum of four consecutive terms in any one office.