Academy celebrates sound

Feb 20, 2008 by Ian Evans

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences March events’ kickoff will be music to the ears of sound fanatics.

The Art of Sound, an evening celebrating the Oscar® nominees and winners from the 2007 Sound Editing and Sound Mixing categories, will take place on Saturday, March 8, at 7:30 p.m. at the Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills.

Moderated by Academy Sound Branch governor and 20-time Oscar nominee Kevin O’Connell, the program will feature an onstage discussion with the winners of the 2007 Academy Awards® in the Sound Mixing and Sound Editing categories (winners to be announced at the 80th Academy Awards® presentation on Sunday, February 24). Clips from each of the nominated motion pictures also will be presented.

The 2007 nominees are:

Sound Editing

  • The Bourne Ultimatum (Karen Baker Landers and Per Hallberg)
  • No Country for Old Men (Skip Lievsay)
  • Ratatouille (Randy Thom and Michael Silvers)
  • There Will Be Blood (Christopher Scarabosio and Matthew Wood)
  • Transformers (Ethan Van der Ryn and Mike Hopkins)

Sound Mixing

  • The Bourne Ultimatum (Scott Millan, David Parker and Kirk Francis)
  • No Country for Old Men (Skip Lievsay, Craig Berkey, Greg Orloff and Peter Kurland)
  • Ratatouille (Randy Thom, Michael Semanick and Doc Kane)
  • 3:10 to Yuma (Paul Massey, David Giammarco and Jim Stuebe)
  • Transformers (Kevin O’Connell, Greg P. Russell and Peter J. Devlin)

Tickets to the Art of Sound are $3 for the general public and free for Academy members. Tickets will be available by mail, at the Academy box office, or online at Doors open at 6:30 p.m. All seating is unreserved.