Incumbents rule the day in Academy Board elections

Jul 07, 2008 by Ian Evans

As the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences elected their Board of Governors, eight incumbents were reelected along with six other filmmakers who returned to the Board after a time away. The sole first-time governor elected is Annette Bening, representing the Actors Branch. All will serve three-year terms.

Returning to the Board after a hiatus are Jeffrey Kurland, Art Directors; Martha Coolidge, Directors; Arthur Hamilton, Music; Don Hall, Sound; and Phil Robinson, Writers.

Incumbent governors reelected to another term are Owen Roizman, Cinematographers; Michael Apted, Documentary; Robert Rehme, Executives; Donn Cambern, Film Editors; Kathleen Kennedy, Producers; Sid Ganis, Public Relations; John Lasseter, Short Films and Feature Animation; and Craig Barron, Visual Effects.

Hall’s return to the Board fills a seat left vacant when J. Paul Huntsman died earlier this year.

Fourteen of the Academy’s 15 branches are each represented by three governors, who may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms. Terms are staggered so that each branch elects or reelects one governor each year. The Makeup Branch is represented by a single governor, currently Leonard Engelman, whose seat was not part of this election cycle.

Governors who were not up for reelection and who continue on the Board are Ed Begley, Jr. and Henry Winkler, Actors Branch; Rosemary Brandenburg and Jeannine Oppewall, Art Directors; Caleb Deschanel and Vilmos Zsigmond, Cinematographers; Curtis Hanson and Paul Mazursky, Directors; Rob Epstein and Richard Pearce, Documentary; Jim Gianopulos and Tom Sherak, Executives; Dede Allen and Mark Goldblatt, Film Editors; Bruce Broughton and Charles Fox, Music; Mark Johnson and Hawk Koch, Producers; Cheryl Boone Isaacs and Marvin Levy, Public Relations; Carl Bell and Jon Bloom, Short Films and Feature Animation; Curt Behlmer and Kevin O’Connell, Sound; Richard Edlund and Bill Taylor, Visual Effects; and James L. Brooks and Frank Pierson, Writers.