Academy Foundation elects officers

Aug 14, 2008 by Ian Evans

The Academy Foundation, which manages the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences multitude of public programs and conducts the annual Student Academy Awards® and Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting competitions, held its elections on August 12th.

Cheryl Boone Isaacs, a Public Relations Branch governor of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, was re-elected Tuesday night as president of the Academy Foundation. This is Isaacs’ second term as president.

In addition, Executives Branch governor Robert Rehme was re-elected vice president, Film Editors Branch governor Donn Cambern was re-elected vice president, Public Relations Branch governor and current Academy President Sid Ganis was elected treasurer, and Executives Branch governor Tom Sherak was elected secretary. Academy Executive Director Bruce Davis remains executive secretary of the Foundation.

Programs run by the Foundation include the Gold Standard, Great To Be Nominated, Oscar’s Docs and Contemporary Documentaries screening series, Academy Tech Council programming, tributes such as the upcoming Salute to Leslie Caron and exhibitions like Ink & Paint: The Art of Hand-Drawn Animation and Pulling Back the Drapes: Set Decoration Revealed, both currently on display at the Academy’s Beverly Hills headquarters.

The Foundation also presents a variety of annual lectures and seminars and awards over $1 million each year in financial grants to film scholars, film festivals, and film-related institutions and programs.

The world-renowned Margaret Herrick Library and Academy Film Archive also operate under the Academy Foundation banner.