Four achievements to get Academy Sci-Tech Awards

Jan 08, 2009 by Ian Evans

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has announced four winners of Scientific and Technical Awards, which will be presented at the Beverly Wilshire on Saturday, February 7, 2009.

The Academy Awards for scientific and technical achievements are:

Technical Achievement Award (Academy Certificate)

  • To Steve Hylén for the concept and his continued leadership in the further development of the Hylén Lens System for motion picture effects photography.

Scientific and Engineering Awards (Academy Plaque)

  • To Erwin Melzner for the overall concept including the optical and cooling systems, Volker Schumacher for the optical design, and Timo Müller for the mechanical design, of the Arrimax 18/12 lighting fixture for use in motion picture production.
  • To Jacques Delacoux for the concept and electronic design, and Alexandre Leuchter for the software and electronic design, of the Transvideo-video assist monitors for the motion picture industry.
  • To Bruno Coumert and Jacques Debize for the optical design, and Dominique Chervin and Christophe Reboulet for the mechanical design, of the compact and lightweight Angenieux 15-40 and 28-76 zoom lenses for handheld motion picture photography.

Stick with for all your 2009 Academy Awards coverage.