2009 Student Academy Award winners announced

May 18, 2009 by Ian Evans

Congratulations are in order for twelve students from eight U.S. colleges and universities that have been named winners in the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ 36th Annual Student Academy Awards competition. The students will participate in a week of industry-related activities and social events, culminating in the awards ceremony on June 13 at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater. One film student from Sweden also has been selected to receive this year’s Honorary Foreign Film award.

The winners are (listed alphabetically by film title within category):


  • “Alice’s Attic,” Robyn Yannoukos, University of California, Los Angeles
  • “Matter in a Quiescent State, Prepares Itself to Be Transformed,” Kwibum Chung, School of Visual Arts, New York


  • “Kites,” Jed Henry, Brigham Young University
  • “Pajama Gladiator,” Glenn Harmon, Brigham Young University
  • “Sebastian’s Voodoo,” Joaquin Baldwin, University of California, Los Angeles


  • “The Last Mermaids,” Liz Chae, Columbia University
  • “A Place to Land,” Lauren DeAngelis, American University, Washington, D.C.
  • “The Wait,” Cassandra Lizaire and Kelly Asmuth, Columbia University


  • “Bohemibot,” Brendan Bellomo, New York University
  • “The Bronx Balletomane,” Jeremy Joffee, City College of New York
  • “Kavi,” Gregg Helvey, University of Southern California

Honorary Foreign Film

  • “Elkland,” Per Hanefjord, Dramatiska Institutet, Sweden

While the U.S. winners know they will each receive an award, their placement — Gold, Silver or Bronze — will not be revealed until the June 13 ceremony. Gold Medal winners receive cash grants of $5,000, Silver Medal winners receive $3,000 and Bronze Medal winners receive $2,000. The Honorary Foreign Film winner receives a $1,000 cash grant.