Academy’s inaugural Governors Awards to honor Bacall, Calley, Corman and Willis

Sep 10, 2009 by Ian Evans

The Board of Governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences have announced the honorees for their inaugural Governors Awards, which will be presented on November 14th. The Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award will be given to producer-executive John Calley, and Honorary Awards will be presented to actress Lauren Bacall, producer-director Roger Corman, and cinematographer Gordon Willis.

“These four individuals have each, in their own unique way, made lasting impressions on the motion picture industry and audiences worldwide,” said Academy President Tom Sherak. “I’m thrilled that the Academy’s Board selected them to be honored at our new Governors Awards event, which will be full of memorable moments celebrating their accomplishments.”