Tom Sherak re-elected AMPAS President

Aug 03, 2010 by Ian Evans

Tom Sherak, a studio exec who has been involved in films from Working Girl to Across the Universe, has been re-elected president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. This will be his second consecutive one-year term in the office.

Sherak is also beginning his eighth year as a governor representing the Executives Branch.

Also involved in the elections: past Academy president Sid Ganis was elected first vice president; Writers Branch governor James L. Brooks was elected to one vice president post and Phil Robinson, also from the Writers Branch, was re-elected to a vice president post; Producers Branch governor Hawk Koch was re-elected treasurer; and Actors Branch governor Annette Bening was elected secretary.

Academy board members serve three-year terms, while officers serve one-year terms, with a maximum of four consecutive terms in any one office.