Nicholl Screenwriting Fellowship finalists announced

Sep 27, 2010 by Ian Evans

The 25th annual Don and Gee Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting, presented by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, have announced ten writers whose scripts will now be judged by the Academy’s Nicholl Committee in the hopes of getting as many as five of the prestigious $30,000 fellowships.

This year’s finalists are (listed alphabetically by author):

  • Art Corriveau, Santa Fe, New Mexico, Nicky Flynn Finally Gets a Life
  • Destin Daniel Cretton, San Diego, Calif., Short Term 12
  • Sebastian Davis, Los Angeles, Calif., Drunk-Dialing
  • Marvin Krueger, North Hollywood, Calif., And Handled with a Chain
  • Andrew Lanham, Austin, Texas, The Jumper of Maine
  • Tim Macy, Kansas City, Mo., The Last Queen
  • Micah Ranum, Beverly Hills, Calif., A Good Hunter
  • Cinthea Stahl, North Hollywood, Calif., Identifying Marks
  • Logan Steiner, Redondo Beach, Calif., The Promise of Spring
  • Sage Vanden Heuvel, Ann Arbor, Mich., Inner Earth

The finalists were selected from 6,304 scripts submitted for this year’s competition.

Secretariat and Erin Brockovich are just two of the titles written by former recipients of the fellowships.