U.S. winners announced for 2012 Student Academy Awards

May 15, 2012 by Ian Evans

Ten students from nine U.S. colleges and universities have won the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ 39th Annual Student Academy Awards competition. Winners will be brought to Los Angeles to join the international student winners in the Foreign Film category for a week of industry activities. The festivities will culminate in the awards ceremony on Saturday, June 9, at 6 p.m. at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills, where the placements in each category will be announced.

The winners are (listed alphabetically by film title in each category):


  • The Reality Clock, Amanda Tasse, University of Southern California


  • Eyrie, David Wolter, California Institute of the Arts
  • The Jockstrap Raiders, Mark Nelson, University of California, Los Angeles
  • My Little Friend, Eric Prah, Ringling College of Art and Design


  • Dying Green, Ellen Tripler, American University
  • Hiro: A Story of Japanese Internment, Keiko Wright, New York University
  • Lost Country, Heather Burky, Art Institute of Jacksonville


  • Nani, Justin Tipping, American Film Institute
  • Narcocorrido, Ryan Prows, American Film Institute
  • Under, Mark Raso, Columbia University