Students feted at 2012 Student Academy Awards ceremony

Jun 09, 2012 by Ian Evans

Thirteen students from colleges and universities around the world took part in tonight’s Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ 39th Annual Student Academy Awards ceremony. The medal placements were announced at the awards ceremony, which featured as presenters actors Laura Dern, Cuba Gooding, Jr., Greg Kinnear and Mena Suvari alongside Academy President Tom Sherak at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater.

The winners are:


  • Gold Medal: The Reality Clock, Amanda Tasse, University of Southern California


  • Gold Medal: Eyrie, David Wolter, California Institute of the Arts
  • Silver Medal: The Jockstrap Raiders, Mark Nelson, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Bronze Medal: My Little Friend, Eric Prah, Ringling College of Art and Design


  • Gold Medal: Hiro: A Story of Japanese Internment, Keiko Wright, New York University
  • Silver Medal: Dying Green, Ellen Tripler, American University
  • Bronze Medal: Lost Country, Heather Burky, Art Institute of Jacksonville


  • Gold Medal: Under, Mark Raso, Columbia University
  • Silver Medal: Narcocorrido, Ryan Prows, American Film Institute
  • Bronze Medal: Nani, Justin Tipping, American Film Institute

Foreign Film

  • Gold Medal: For Elsie, David Winstone, University of Westminster, United Kingdom
  • Silver Medal: Of Dogs and Horses, Thomas Stuber, Film Academy Baden-W├╝rttemberg, Germany
  • Bronze Medal: The Swing of the Coffin Maker, Elmar Imanov, The International Film School Cologne, Germany

If you’d like to see the path students took to achieve this win, see visit