Jeffrey Katzenberg, Hal Needham, D.A. Pennebaker and George Stevens, Jr. to receive Academy’s Governors Awards

Sep 05, 2012 by Ian Evans

The Board of Governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences will present Honorary Awards to stunt performer Hal Needham, documentarian D. A. Pennebaker and arts advocate George Stevens, Jr., and the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award to philanthropist Jeffrey Katzenberg. These awards will be presented at the Academy’s 4th Annual Governors Awards dinner on Saturday, December 1, at The Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland Center®.

Hal Needham is a legendary stunt performer and coordinator who has worked on more than 300 feature films. In 1986, the Academy presented Needham with a Scientific and Engineering Award for the design and development of the Shotmaker Elite camera car and crane, which allows filmmakers greater versatility in shooting action sequences.

D. A. Pennebaker, a pioneer of modern nonfiction film, has directed more than 20 feature-length documentaries, including Don’t Look Back, and Monterey Pop.

George Stevens, Jr. has spent a lifetime celebrating and preserving the heritage of motion pictures He became the founding director of the American Film Institute. and established the Center for Advanced Film Studies, created the AFI Life Achievement Award and embarked on a host of educational initiatives.

A studio executive, film producer and philanthropist, Jeffrey Katzenberg has been instrumental in raising money for education, art and health-related causes, particularly those benefiting the motion picture industry, helping to raise over $200 million.

Stick with for all your 85th Academy Awards news and coverage.