The Square wins Palme d’Or at Cannes

May 28, 2017 by Ian Evans

The 2017 edition of the glitzy Cannes Film Festival came to a close today as it announced the prize winners selected by the jury.

Here’s a look at the winners:

  • Palme d’Or: The Square
  • Grand Prix: Beats Per Minute (BPM)
  • Jury Prize: Loveless
  • Best Actress: Diane Kruger, In the Fade
  • Best Actor: Joaquin Phoenix, You Were Never Really Here
  • Best Director: Sofia Coppola, The Beguiled
  • Best Screenplay: The Killing of a Sacred Deer and You Were Never Really Here (tie)
  • Camera d’Or: Jeune Femme/Montparnasse Bienvenue, directed by Leonor Serraille
  • 70th Anniversary Prize: Nicole Kidman
  • Short Film Palme d’Or: Xiao Cheng Er Yue (A Gentle Night), directed by Qiu Yang
  • Queer Palm (Feature): BPM (Beats Per Minute), Robin Campillo
  • Queer Palm (Short): Islands, Yann Gonzalez