Academy announces 2019 Governors Awards recipients

Jun 03, 2019 by Ian Evans

The Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences have announced the recipients of the 2019 Governors Awards. Honorary Awards will be given to David Lynch, Wes Studi and Lina Wertmüller, while the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award will be presented to Geena Davis. The quartet will receive their honours at the Academy’s 11th Annual Governors Awards on Sunday, October 27th.

“These Governors Awards given by the Academy each year recognize individuals who have devoted themselves to a lifetime of artistic accomplishment and brought outstanding contributions to our industry, and beyond,” said Academy President John Bailey. “It is with great pleasure that we announce this year’s recipients.”

Davis, a supporting actress Oscar winner for The Accidental Tourist, has been a tireless advocate for gender equality in media and founded the Geena Davis Institute on Gender in Media. Her institute is dedicated to educating and influencing film and television content creators to eliminate gender bias and stereotypes in entertainment.

Lynch is the multi-hyphenate director whose first full-length feature film Eraserhead gained a cult following after its release in 1977. His film the Elephant Man received eight Oscar nominations including Directing and Adapted Screenplay for Lynch. He also received directing nominations for Blue Velvet and Mulholland Drive. Other films of his include Dune, Wild at Heart, Lost Highway, The Straight Story and Inland Empire.

Studi, a Cherokee-American actor, has appeared in more than 30 films and was active in Native American politics and activism after a tour of military service in Vietnam. After starting his career with the American Indian Theater Company, he landed his first film role in the independent feature Powwow Highway. His filmography also includes roles in Dances with Wolves, The Last of the Mohicans, Geronimo: An American Legend, Heat, The New World and Avatar.

Wertmüller became the first woman to receive an Academy Award nomination for Directing when she received both Directing and Original Screenplay nominations for Seven Beauties. Her films, with social and political themes, have included The Basilisks, The Seduction of Mimi, Love and Anarchy and Swept Away.