39th Toronto International Film Festival Coverage: Day Eleven

Sunday, September 14th, 2014 by Ian Evans

The Toronto International Film Festival announced its award winners today.

The Vimeo Award for Best Canadian Short Film, and $10,000, went to Randall Okita for The Weatherman and the Shadowboxer. Honourable mention went to Rob Grant’s What Doesn’t Kill You.

The Vimeo Award for Best International Short Film, and its $10,000 prize, went to Sotiris Dounoukos’s A Single Body. Honourable mention went to Atsuko Hirayanagi for Oh Lucy!

The Canada Goose Award for Best Canadian Feature Film, and a $30,000 cash prize was awarded to Maxime Giroux’s Felix and Meira.

The City of Toronto Award for Best Canadian First Feature Film went to Jeffrey St. Jules for Bang Bang Baby. The award comes with a $15,000 cash prize.

For a 23rd year, the international FIPRESCI jury awarded prizes at TIFF. The Prize of the International Critics (FIPRESCI) for Special Presentations was awarded to Oren Moverman’s Time Out of Mind, while the Prize of the International Critics (FIPRESCI) for the Discovery programme was awarded to Abd Al Malik for May Allah Bless France!

The jury from the Network for the Promotion of Asian Cinema handed out the NETPAC Award for World or International Asian Film Premiere to Shonali Bose for Margarita, with a Straw.

Now, we hit the three awards voted on by the filmgoers.

The Grolsch People’s Choice Award went to Morten Tyldum for The Imitation Game. The first runner up was Isabel Coixet’s Learning to Drive while the second runner up was Theodore Melfi’s St. Vincent. The Imitation Game received a free screening for festival fans at the Ryerson Theatre.

The Grolsch People’s Choice Midnight Madness Award was awarded to Taika Waititi and Jemaine Clement for What We Do in the Shadows.

The first runner up was Kevin Smith for Tusk while the second runner up was Jalmari Helander for Big Game.

Finally, we have the Grolsch People’s Choice Documentary Award went to Hajooj Kuka for Beats of the Antonov. First runner up was David Thorpe’s Do I Sound Gay? while the second runner up was Ethan Hawke’s Seymour: An Introduction.