Record 46 countries vie for Best Foreign Language Film Oscar®

Nov 20, 2000 by Ian Evans

A record 46 countries have submitted films to the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences for Academy Award® consideration as Best Foreign Language Film of 2000, Academy President Robert Rehme announced today.

The films up for consideration this year are:

  • Algeria, Little Senegal Rachid Bouchareb, director;
  • Argentina, Felicidades Emilio Bender, director;
  • Austria, The Stranger Götz Spielmann, director;
  • Belgium, Everybody Famous Dominique Deruddere, director;
  • Brazil, Me, You, Them Andrucha Waddington, director;
  • Bulgaria, Letter to America Iglika Triffonova, director;
  • Canada, Maelström Denis Villeneue, director;
  • Chile, Coronation Silvio Caiozzi, director;
  • China, Breaking the Silence Sun Zhou, director;
  • Croatia, Marshall Tito’s Spirit Vinko Bresan, director;
  • Czech Republic, Divided We Fall Jan Hrebejk, director;
  • Denmark, A Place Nearby Kaspar Rostrup, director;
  • Ecuador, Dreams from the Middle of the World Carlos Naranjo Estrella, director;
  • Finland, Seven Songs from the Tundra Anastasia Lapsui and Markku Lehmuskallio, directors;
  • France, The Taste of Others Agnès Jaoui, director;
  • Georgia, 27 Missing Kisses Nana Djordjadze, director;
  • Germany, No Place to Go Oscar Roehler, director;
  • Greece, Peppermint Costas Kapakas, director;
  • Hong Kong, In the Mood for Love Wong Kar-Wai, director;
  • Hungary, Glamour Frigyes Gödrös, director;
  • Iceland, Angels of the Universe Fridrik Thor Fridriksson, director;
  • India, Hey! Ram Kamal Haasan, director;
  • Iran, A Time for Drunken Horses Bahman Ghobadi, director;
  • Israel, Time of Favor Joseph Cedar, director;
  • Italy, The Hundred Steps Marco Tullio Giodana, director;
  • Japan, When the Rain Lifts Takashi Koizumi, director;
  • Korea, Chunhyang Im Kwon-taek, director;
  • Mexico, Love’s a Bitch Alejandro González Iñárritu, director;
  • Morocco, “Ali Zaoua Nabyl Ayouch, director;
  • Nepal, Mask of Desire Tsering Rhitar Sherpa, director;
  • The Netherlands, Little Crumb Maria Peters, director;
  • Norway, Odd Little Man Stein Leikanger, director;
  • The Philippines, Anak Rory B. Quintos, director;
  • Poland, Life as a Fatal Sexually Transmitted Disease Krzysztof Zanussi, director;
  • Portugal, Too Late José Nacimento, director;
  • Russia, His Wife’s Diary Alexey Uchitel, director;
  • Slovak Republic, Landscape Martin Sulik, director;
  • Spain, You’re the One (A Tale from Then) José Luis Garci, director;
  • Sweden, Songs from the Second Floor Roy Andersson, director;
  • Switzerland, Gripsholm Xavier Koller, director;
  • Taiwan, Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon Ang Lee, director;
  • Thailand, 6ixty-Nin9 Pen-ek Ratanaruang, director;
  • Turkey, Run for Money Reha Erdem, director;
  • Venezuela, Devil Gold José Ramón Novoa, director;
  • Vietnam, Vertical Ray of the Sun Tran Anh Hung, director;
  • Yugoslavia, Sky Hook Ljubisa Samardzic, director.
The Foreign Language Film Award Committee will screen all entries, beginning November 29, before voting to nominate five achievements.

Stick with Digital Hit for all your Academy Awards® coverage.