54 countries vie for Foreign Language Oscar®

Dec 02, 2002 by Ian Evans

A record-breaking 54 countries have submitted films to the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences for Academy Award® consideration in the Foreign Language Film Award category, Academy President Frank Pierson announced today.

It is the largest number of films ever entered in this category, besting last year’s record by three films. Afghanistan, Bangladesh and Chad each had films that qualified this year for the first time.

The submissions for 2002 are:

  • Afghanistan, FireDancer, Jawed Wassel, director
  • Algeria, Rachida, Yamina Bachir-Chouikh, director
  • Argentina, Kamchatka, Marcelo Piñeyro, director
  • Austria, Gebürtig, Robert Schindel & Lukas Stepanik, directors
  • Bangladesh, The Clay Bird, Tareque Masud, director
  • Belgium, The Son, Jean-Pierre & Luc Dardenne, directors
  • Brazil, City of God, Fernando Meirelles, director
  • Bulgaria, Warming up Yesterday’s Lunch, Kostadin Bonev, director
  • Canada, Un Crabe Dans la Tête, André Turpin, director
  • Chad, Abouna, Mahamat Saleh Haroun, director
  • Chile, Ogu y Mampato en Rapa Nui, Alejandro Rojas, director
  • China, Hero, Zhang Yimou, director
  • Colombia, The Invisible Children, Lisandro Duque Naranjo, director
  • Croatia, Fine Dead Girls, Dalibor Matanic, director
  • Cuba, Nothing More, Juan Carlos Cremata, director
  • Czech Republic, Wild Bees, Bohdan Sláma, director
  • Denmark, Open Hearts, Susanne Bier, director
  • Egypt, The Secret of the Young Girl, Magdy Ahmed Aly, director
  • Finland, The Man without a Past, Aki Kaurismaki, director
  • France, 8 Women, François Ozon, director
  • Germany, Nowhere in Africa, Caroline Link, director
  • Greece, The Only Journey of His Life, Lakis Papastathis, director
  • Hungary, Hukkle, György Pálfi, director
  • Iceland, The Sea, Baltasar Kormakur, director
  • India, Devdas, Sanjay Leela Bhansail, director
  • Indonesia, Ca-bau-kan, Nia diNata, director
  • Iran, I’m Taraneh, 15, Rassul Sadr-Ameli, director
  • Israel, Broken Wings, Nir Bergman, director
  • Italy, Pinocchio, Roberto Benigni, director
  • Japan, Out, Hideyuki Hirayama, director
  • Korea, Oasis, Lee Chang-dong, director
  • Lebanon, When Maryam Spoke Out, Assad Fouladkar, director
  • Luxembourg, Dead Man’s Hand, Laurent Brandenburger & Philippe Boon, directors
  • Mexico, The Crime of Father Amaro, Carlos Carrera, director
  • Netherlands, Zus & Zo, Paula van der Oest, director
  • Norway, Hold My Heart, Trygve Allister Diesen, director
  • Philippines, Small Voices, Gil M. Portes, director
  • Poland, Edi, Piotr Trzaskalski, director
  • Portugal, O Delfim, Fernando Lopes, director
  • Romania, Philanthropy, Nae Caranfil, director
  • Russia, House of Fools, Andrei Konchalovsky, director
  • Slovakia, Cruel Joys, Juraj Nvota, director
  • Slovenia, Head Noise, Andrej Kosak, director
  • Spain, Los Lunes Al Sol, Fernando Leon de Aranoa, director
  • Sweden, Lilja 4-ever, Lukas Moodysson, director
  • Switzerland, Aime Ton Pere, Jacob Berger, director
  • Taiwan, The Best of Times, Chang Tso-Chi, director
  • Thailand, Mon-rak Transistor, Pen-ek Ratanaruang, director
  • Tunisia, The Magic Box, Rida Behi, director
  • Turkey, 9, Umit Unal, director
  • United Kingdom, Eldra, Tim Lyn, director
  • Uruguay, Corazon de Fuego, Diego Arsuaga, director
  • Venezuela, The Archangel’s Feather, Luis Manzo, director
  • Yugoslavia, Labyrinth, Miroslav Leki, director.
Each country is invited to submit its best film of the year to the Academy. Selection of those entries is made by juries comprised of filmmakers from that country. Only one film, which need not have been released in Los Angeles, is accepted from each country.

Stick with Digital Hit for all you Oscar® coverage.