Academy elects Sid Ganis president

Aug 24, 2005 by Ian Evans

Sid Ganis was elected president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences by the organization’s Board of Governors.

Ganis has been on AMPAS’ Board of Governors for 19 years. He was most recently the Academy’s first vice president. He succeeds Frank Pierson, who had served the maximum four consecutive one-year terms in the office.

Robert Rehme, an executives branch governor and past Academy president, was elected first vice president; actors branch governor Tom Hanks and music branch governor Arthur Hamilton were elected vice presidents, sound branch governor Donald C. Rogers was elected treasurer and actors branch governor Kathy Bates was elected secretary. Pierson automatically will serve this year as immediate past president, an officer slot.