2006 Student Academy Award winners announced

May 18, 2006 by Ian Evans

Winners have been announced for the 33rd annual Student Academy Awards. The thirteen students were from nine different colleges and universities. A student from South Africa will receive this year’s Honorary Foreign Student Film Award.

The winners are (listed alphabetically by film title within category):


  • 6 a.m., Carmen Vidal Balanzat, City College of New York
  • Perspective, Travis Hatfield and Samuel Day, Ball State University, Indiana

Note: Only gold and silver medals will be awarded in the Alternative category.


  • The Dancing Thief, Meng Vue, Ringling School of Art and Design, Sarasota, Florida
  • The Possum, Chris Choy, California Institute of the Arts
  • Turtles, Thomas Leavitt, Brigham Young University


  • Reporter Zero, Carrie Lozano, University of California, Berkeley
  • Three Beauties, Mak Hossain, Purdue University
  • The Women’s Kingdom, Xiaoli Zhou, University of California, Berkeley


  • Christmas Wish List, Sean Overbeeke, University of North Carolina
  • El Viaje (One Day Trip), Cady Abarca-Benavides, Columbia University
  • Pop Foul, Moon Molson and Jennifer Handorf, Columbia University

Honorary Foreign Student Film Award

Elalini, Tristan Holmes, The South African School of Motion Picture Medium and Live Performance (AFDA).

The U.S. winners know that they will receive an award, but the level of that award — gold, silver or bronze — will not be revealed until the June 10 ceremony. Besides trophies, gold medalists receive $5,000, silver medalists are awarded $3,000 and bronze medal recipients are presented with $2,000. The Honorary Foreign Film winner receives $1,000 in addition to the trophy.