Six new governors elected to AMPAS board

Jul 12, 2006 by Ian Evans

Six new governors including three newcomers were elected to represent their branches on the Board of Governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. Eight incumbent governors were also reelected.

Newcomers to the board are Rob Epstein, documentary branch; Mark Goldblatt, film editors; and James L. Brooks, writers. Returning to the board after a hiatus are Paul Mazursky, directors; Mark Johnson, producers; and Bill Taylor, visual effects.

Incumbent governors reelected to another term are Ed Begley Jr., actors branch; Jeannine Oppewall, art directors; Caleb Deschanel, cinematographers; Tom Sherak, executives, Bruce Broughton, music branch; Cheryl Boone Isaacs, public relations; Jon Bloom, short films and feature animation; and Kevin O’Connell, sound.

Governors who were not up for reelection and who continue on the board are: Kathy Bates and Tom Hanks, actors branch; Rosemary Brandenburg and Albert Wolsky, art directors; Roger Deakins and Owen Roizman, cinematographers; Curtis Hanson and Alexander Payne, directors; Michael Apted and Freida Lee Mock, documentary; Jim Gianopulos and Robert Rehme, executives; Donn Cambern and Tom Rolf, film editors; Charles Bernstein and Arthur Hamilton, music; Kathleen Kennedy and Hawk Koch, producers; Sid Ganis and Marvin Levy, public relations; Carl Bell and John Lasseter, short films and feature animation; J. Paul Huntsman and Donald C. Rogers, sound; Craig Barron and Jonathan Erland, visual effects; and Fay Kanin and Phil Alden Robinson, writers.