Logo for Digital Hit Entertainment

23rd Independent Spirit Awards Coverage (2008)

The 23rd Independent Spirit Awards, hosted by Rainn Wilson, were presented on February 23rd, 2008. Here are the nominees and winners.

Best Feature:

Best Director:

Best Screenplay:

Best First Feature:

Best First Screenplay:

John Cassavetes Award: (Given to the best feature made for under $500,000)

Best Supporting Female:

Best Supporting Male:

Best Female Lead:

Best Male Lead:

Best Cinematography:

Best Foreign Film:

Best Documentary:

IFC/Acura Someone to Watch Award: (recognizes a talented filmmaker of singular vision who has not yet received appropriate recognition)

Truer Than Fiction Award: (presented to an emerging director of non-fiction features who has not yet received significant attention)

Producers Award: (honors emerging producers who, despite highly limited resources, demonstrate the creativity, tenacity, and vision required to produce quality, independent films)

Robert Altman Award: (Given to one film's director, casting director and its ensemble cast)