Academy announces Nicholl Screenwriting Fellowship winners

Oct 23, 2000 by Ian Evans

Five new writers have been selected as recipients of the 2000 Don and Gee Nicholl Screenwriting Fellowship competition sponsored by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences and the Academy Foundation. They are:

  • Doug Atchison; North Hollywood, California
    Script: “Akeelah and the Bee”
  • Alfredo Botello; Berkeley, California
    Script: “The Crasher”
  • Gabrielle Burton; Eggertsville, New York
    Script: “The Imperial Waltz”
  • Christine R. Downs; Los Angeles, California
    Script: “Victory Road”
  • James M. Foley; Chicago, Illinois
    Script: “Powder River Breakdown”
The keynote speaker at the Fellowship dinner will be 1992 Nicholl Fellow, Susannah Grant, writer of Erin Brockovich and 28 Days.

This year’s competition drew 4,250 entries from all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and 29 countries. Since the program’s inception, a total of 63 fellowships have been presented.