Crash takes Best Picture

Mar 06, 2006 by Ian Evans

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences handed out their 78th Academy Awards last night and the honors were spread amongst several films, with no big winners emerging from the 3 1/2 hour telecast.

Host Jon Stewart presided over an evening that saw Crash take home Best Picture and Ang Lee take home Best Direction for Brokeback Mountain. Reese Witherspoon won Best Actress for Walk the Line, Philip Seymour Hoffman’s portrayal of Truman Capote earned him Best Actor, while George Clooney and Rachel Weisz walked home with the Supporting categories.

We were backstage and on the red carpet, so don’t forget to check out our coverage.